The Force is under the control of the Minister of Justice and is headed by a Commissioner who holds the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and are selected from the non-commissioned ranks. The Force has complete jurisdiction in the enforcement of the federal statutes. By arrangement between the federal and provincial governments it enforces the provincial statutes and the Criminal Code in all provinces exclusive of Ontario and Quebec and under special agreement it polices some 119 municipalities. It is the sole police force in the Yukon and Northwest Territories, where it also performs various administrative duties on behalf of certain departments of the Federal Government. It maintains liaison officers in London and Washington and represents Canada in the International Criminal Police Organization which has headquarters in Paris.

Of the Force's 17 divisions, 12 are actively engaged in the work of law enforcement, as are some 41 subdivisions and 639 detachments. The five remaining divisions are "Headquarters", "Depot" and "N", which are maintained as training centres, and "Marine" and "Air", which support the operations of the land divisions. A teletype system links the widespread divisional headquarters with the administrative centre at Ottawa and a network of fixed and mobile radio units operates within the provinces. Focal point of the Force's criminal identification work is the Headquarters Identification Branch; its services, together with those of the 39 divisional and subdivisional units and the three Crime Detection Laboratories, are available to police forces throughout Canada. The Force operates the Canadian Police College at which Force members and selected representatives of other Canadian and foreign police forces may study the latest advances in the fields of crime prevention and detection.

The uniform strength of the Force at Mar. 31, 1961 was 6,140, including Marine Constables and Special Constables, at which time it maintained some 1,691 motor vehicles, 17 aircraft, 73 ships and boats, 215 sleigh dogs, 33 police service dogs and 231 horses.

Subsection 2.—Provincial Police Forces

Quebec Provincial Police Force.—This Force is responsible for the maintenance of peace, order and public safety throughout the Province of Quebec and also for the prevention and investigation of criminal offences and of violations of the laws of that province. Headquarters of the Force is located at Montreal.

To facilitate operations, the territory is divided into two parts designated as the Montreal Division and the Quebec Division, each of which is divided into three subdivisions. The subdivisions of the Montreal Division are administered from Montreal, Hull and Granby and the subdivisions of the Quebec Division from Quebec City, Rimouski and Chicoutimi. There are 59 detachments in the Montreal Division and 51 in the Quebec Division.

The Quebec Provincial Police Force has a complement of about 1,600 men under the orders of a Director General who is responsible to the Attorney General of the province. The personnel consists of the Director General; a Deputy Director General; two Assistant Directors, each having charge of a Division; officers holding the position of chief inspector or inspector; non-commissioned officers with the rank of sergeant-major, staff-sergeant, sergeant or corporal; and constables and recruits.

Ontario Provincial Police.—The Ontario Provincial Police Force is maintained by the Ontario Government and administered by the Attorney-General's Department. It is responsible for law enforcement in the rural and unorganized parts of the province and in certain municipalities by contract. The development of the Force from its beginning in the early years of Confederation to the passing of the Police Act in 1946, is outlined in the 1950 Year Book, pp. 332-333.